This and that

Seriously! I have the worst habit of doing what I shouldn’t be doing when there are more important things to do…such as writing this blog while I should be scrubbing a stain out of a onesie (it can sit in the soapy water for just a bit longer), doing laundry and all that comes with it, decorating my boy’s room with the new frames I bought yesterday. Oh and eating lunch. I always forget to eat lunch but when I do, Lord help me! It’s a good thing I have an almost 4 year old to remind me to eat sometimes. Is that bad?!

Of course I don’t forget to feed him or Noah but I just get so wrapped up in what in doing that putting food in my mouth is the farthest thing from my mind. I make Matthew’s food, which is usually what I make myself too but the while he’s eating, I feed Noah his cereal (and milk), then I get busy gettin’ stuff done. I usually do sit down and eat with David when he comes home for lunch but the times vary. Although sometimes I eat on the go even when he’s home.

What was with that rant?!

So yeah, earlier I mentioned that I have an almost 4 year old!! He is getting so old, I want time to slow down. He doesn’t need me as much anymore. He has become so independent. I can hardly get him to smile at the camera anymore without bribing him (great parenting, right?!). In hindsight, he is still so small yet so big. I guess I didn’t really realize how big he actually is until I held Noah for the 1st time. And the next time I picked Matthew up, once I was healed from my C-section, that’s when it hit me how big he had gotten since I last held him when I was about 7 months pregnant. It was a reality check.

This time 4 years ago, I was preparing for the lil baby growing in my belly. He was not just my 1st born and the one who made me a Mom, he was the center of my universe. As I nicknamed him, my Everything. Those aren’t just words, it was truth.

And those words still hold true 4 years later and one more kid in the mix. Matthew is still my Everything but so is my 2nd born, my Noah. I have 2 Everythings. These kids are my world. Both are the center of my universe.

The transition of having one kid who is the center of my universe to having 2 was hard to deal with. I had yet another reality check.

Matthew just climbed into my lap. I’ll have to put this off for now…

But as I was saying, it was hard transitioning to having two kids, emotionally, but not necessarily in a bad way. Matthew was no longer my only Everything and I had to then split my time. For the past 4 months, it’s been about 80/20 because Noah needs more of my attention. So I try even harder to make sure Matthew know I still love him and that he knows he is still my whole world. But also showing Noah that he, too, is my whole world. I work very hard at not letting either of them feel left out and I still don’t feel that I’m doing the best job at it. Matthew hasn’t acted as though he feels left out. He has taken the “Big brother” roll very seriously and he’s done an awesome job at it. I’m very proud of him.

I feel like I’ve rambled and IF you have gotten through this whole post with out falling asleep, bless you! πŸ™‚

20130501-143813.jpg

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ashley
    May 08, 2013 @ 17:17:23

    Good reads and I love the look on Noah’s face πŸ˜›

    Reply

Leave a Reply

