Unspoken truth

So I went to a birthday party a couple months ago and closer to the end of the party, it was stated that I am the Facebook girl. If anything goes on ever, I will put it on Facebook. I was named “Facebook Jonie” that night. And as true as it seemed at the time, I have never put “everything” on Facebook. I did, however, put a lot of stuff on there. I became the girl with the camera. If anyone needed any pictures, they knew where to go-to my Facebook photo albums. As much as I hate to admit it, their name for me was quite accurate. I was, indeed, “Facebook Jonie”.

At that point in my life, I was already undergoing some personal changes within. I was already in constant self evaluation mode. I knew I wanted to become a better person than I was. And so I took my new given nickname into consideration.

Did I want to be known as the girl obsessed with Facebook? Did I want to be known as “Facebook Jonie”? Absolutely not. When I die, I don’t want to be remembered as the girl obsessed with Facebook. I don’t want people to think about Facebook and then think of me. You get the point.

So that is one unspoken reason I deleted my Facebook account. Not the main reason or even a big reason, just a reason. Coming to terms with knowing that’s how I was perceived was merely a stepping stone to get me to where I am today.

In order to change and become a better person, you have to accept the fact that you have flaws as well as good qualities and own them. And don’t be afraid to let go of the bad. You won’t lose yourself in the process. You will still be you, just a better version of you.

I have been in prayer for God to change ME. And God has been working overtime on me and I am very grateful. In the past, I have always reverted back to my old ways but then again, I didn’t stay in constant prayer. So I’m also praying that I stay in constant prayer. lol

I want to make clear what I mean by “constant prayer”. I pray every day over lots of things including for God to change me. I am continuously conscious of wanting to stay on the path that I’ve been on-wanting to become a better person. And when I feel or see myself trying to stray, I pray for God to clear my mind and keep me on the right track. It’s a constant struggle to stray clear of my old ways but I only pray that I continue to stray from who I was.

So if you are reading this, I would appreciate prayer. 🙂

As always thanks for reading.

🙂

Leave a Reply

