Quality over quantity

Quality over Quantity! This has been my mental phrase for a couple of days now. But I can’t take credit for it as it was because of one of my best friends that I even use it now. But this phrase, due to the circumstance I was in at the time those words came to me, will probably follow me for the rest of my life.

I will be honest and “petty” if you will and say that it bothers me more than it should when people, loved ones even, don’t show up to my boy’s birthday parties. It breaks my heart for them even though they have no clue. All they know is there is cake, his mom and dad, a few friends and cousins, presents and in this last party’s case, a SLIP N SLIDE and an ALLIGATOR pool and my 5 yr old had a blast. He didn’t even notice who wasn’t there. But you know who did? ME!!! And even though the ones that DID call to say they couldn’t make it, regardless the reason, called, It still bothered me. And at first, it ruined my day but I put my big girl panties on and dealt with it. I didn’t want my kids to see the disgust or sadness on my face. I just want my kids to always have the best birthday experience I can give them. And ultimately, being their mama and wanting what’s best for them, I want everyone else to care as much as I do. But not that they don’t care (because I know they do), they will never care as much as I care as I am Mommy. People have their own lives and as much as I wish they would stop everything for my kids, they just simply can’t. lol In a perfect world, though. In a perfect world. So anyway, there is no point in me getting upset about it every single year.

With all of the above said, I do not want my boys to be like me. I don’t want them to worry about who isn’t there. I always want them to feel extremely loved because of who is always there for them. And that number will probably be able to be counted on just one hand. at most, one and a half hands. I would rather them have a few close true friends than to be the most popular person in school with a whole host of people around you all the time and still feel completely alone. I want them to always choose quality over quantity. Look at the quality of a person rather than the popularity of a person.

And this little life lesson starts with me! Being a mom, I am constantly becoming a better person because my kids are watching me. And Lord knows that I do not want my kids to be like me when it comes to certain aspect of ME. I want to stop wearing my heart on my sleeve all the time and strap on a pair of big girl panties so I can teach my kids early that it doesn’t matter how many people are in theirs lives. It matters WHY they are in theirs lives. I love them to pieces and I want to become a better person than I was yesterday. Not just for myself but for them too.

Leave a Reply

